I studied in Florence for four months in the fall of 2004, and I wouldn’t trade those months for anything. I don’t think I’ve ever been happier, or more fulfilled, than when I was in bella Firenze, and Italy as a whole.

On occasion, people ask me if I miss Italy.

My response? “Every day. Every minute.”

It just doesn’t leave you. And when I talk about missing it, I’m not talking about the alcohol-soaked nights (and days), clubbing until 5:00 AM and flirting with just about every American guy in the city. (The ratio of female to male students was about 5:1 overall, so guys were especially precious.)

I’m talking about the people: meeting the Greek guys, Klement and Soni, on the Ponte Vecchio, and going to get a drink with them (all the time thinking, “What am I doing? Are these guys going to sexually assault me?” We actually had a very pleasant afternoon, attempting to communicate in broken Italian and English.) I met so many wonderful shopkeepers as I searched for the perfect Florentine jewelry.

And the food — oh God! SUCH consistently amazing food.

The beauty of the city, the art spouting from the pavement in every direction, the feeling you get when you walk across a piazza or climb hills to view the city at its finest….oh god, I miss Italy so much. I ache, literally. I watched Under the Tuscan Sun last night (I had seen it once before, shortly before I went to Florence), and seeing the brief images of Florence almost made me burst into tears.

There is a thread on Bootsnall discussing what songs remind you of certain places. At first, I remembered my homestay in Normandy when I was in high school, and how it seemed like the only song they would play on the radio was “It Wasn’t Me” by Shaggy. EVERY time you turned on the radio, there it was!!

And then I began thinking about the dance music at the clubs in Florence. I hold that music so close to my heart. When I returned to Florence for Gleetalia in spring 2006, some of my friends and I went out to my favorite club, Maracana, and I was delirious with happiness that they were playing the SAME EXACT SONGS!

So I began to write about that on Bootsnall….and I realized that I could only remember a few of them.

This devastates me.

This is what I can remember:

–Eric Prydz “Call on Me”
–Black Eyed Peas “Let’s Get Retarded”
–Black Eyed Peas “Hey Mama”
–Beyonce “Crazy in Love”
–Jay-Z “Dirt Off Your Shoulder”
–“Superstar”
–“Bodiqua, Morena, Dominicana, Rubiano….”
–50 Cent “In da Club”
–50 Cent “P.I.M.P.”
–The Game “Fresh ’83”
–Houston “I Like That”

I think in addition to that, there were the classics, like “Yeah!” by Usher, “Big Pimpin'” and “Ice Ice, Baby” and “Baby Got Back”….but I can’t remember.

This is really bothering me and making me upset, so if you can remember any other songs, I would really, really appreciate it.

