I was reading an oldish issue of Time at work the other day when I came across a feature on Giuliani. Since he is the candidate whom I detest the most, I decided to read it, looking for anything new and interesting.

I was shocked by this quote that I read. Please keep in mind that this is from Time, which is moderate but leans slightly more to the conservative side. It’s not like I took this from a liberal publication. Here it is:

On the campaign trail, Giuliani’s foreign policy comments have sometimes come off more confident than competent. In New Hampshire this spring, according to the New York Times, Giuliani said it was unclear whether Iran or North Korea was further along on building a nuclear bomb. (North Korea tested a nuclear device in October 2006. Iran has not done so.) Then, in his speech at the Maryland synagogue in July, Giuliani mocked Democratic candidate Barack Obama for claiming that North Korea was the nation’s No. 1 enemy. “North Korea is an enemy. North Korea is dangerous. I mean, I grant that. And boy, we have to be really careful about North Korea,” Giuliani said, his voice iced with sarcasm. “But I don’t remember North Koreans coming to America and killing us.”

North Korea is known to sell advanced weaponry to other states that sponsor terrorists. The State Department has listed North Korea as a sponsor of terrorism. The reason North Korea keeps U.S. terrorism experts up at night is not that North Korean operatives will come here and attack us; it’s that they might sell a nuclear bomb to people who will.

Holy shit, he is ignorant.

To think that Giuliani tells people that he has the MOST foreign policy experience of the candidates! He has said that on several occasions, citing his experience as the mayor of the world’s most global city! (I’m not even sure if I’d call it the world’s most global city….London has to be up there, too.)

Giuliani reminds me of Lois on Family Guy in the episode when she gets elected mayor by doing nothing but saying, “9/11, 9/11, 9….11!” He did become a sort of symbol following 9/11, a comforting and powerful figure. The thing is, what exactly did he do? Because of his 9/11 association, people automatically assume that he’s the candidate best prepared for terrorism. However, when you look back, it was well known that the World Trade Center was a target, and he did nothing about it, including keeping it the emergency response center and dividing the NYPD and FDNY.

Sigh.

The article went on to describe the foreign policy experience of several of the other candidates. And you know who has the most (and, in my opinion, best) experience? Joe Biden! Who would have thought?

He is the chairman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, and he’s served on the committee for 32 years. He’s been to Iraq seven times, which is the most of all the candidates. (John McCain has been there six times, Hilary Clinton and Chris Dodd have each been twice, Sam Brownbeck has been twice, and Barack Obama has been once.) In addition, he’s a six-term senator who has the sixth-longest tenure in the Senate.

The other candidates whom I believe have the best foreign experience are McCain and Clinton.

I do like Biden very much. I’ve been reading a lot, and many people consider him a top candidate for Secretary of State, should a Democrat win. I think that would be fantastic. I’d also like to see Richardson in the cabinet (he’s quite good, just a terrible public speaker), and I’d like John Edwards to be more involved in something domestic, something labor-oriented….

Strangely, I’ve always felt like I can’t quite trust Edwards, but I’ve been liking him a lot more lately! Who knows what will happen with that?

Oh, and Fred Thompson….the guy who’s “lazy like a fox,” as Newsweek said….ugh. I can’t stand him. How do people like him? I saw him announce his candidacy on Leno, and he was the most boring, least charismatic man! And he’s supposed to be an actor — you’d think he’d have charisma! I’ve been reading a lot about him, and it seems like he doesn’t care about being president that much, complaining about much of the legwork he has to do.

As I write these Election 2008-oriented entries, please keep in mind that, technically, I am not a Democrat. I’m a liberal independent, and though I usually vote for Democrats, that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t vote for a Republican over a Democrat if I thought he or she was better qualified.

I will definitely be voting in the Republican primary. I remember in 2000 that my parents (both moderate-to-liberal independents) voted for McCain to do their part to eliminate Bush. I can see myself doing that. Maybe I’ll vote for Ron Paul, just to keep his crazy ass in the race as long as possible! In that case, maybe I should vote for Mike Gravel as well….

