Most of you know that I’ve been sick for quite some time.  If you count the first bout, it has been almost two months, including a two-week somewhat healthy period in between.  I’ve had two colds, then bronchitis and an ear infection, and though I felt like I was getting better in New Mexico, it didn’t last.

I called my doctor during my lunch at 2:30 PM today, and she told me she’d like me to try a different prescription, and if that doesn’t work, to come in for an appointment.  She asked me my pharmacy; I told her it was the CVS in Davis Square.

I went to CVS right after work.

They didn’t have it.

I realized I had a voicemail from the doctor.  I checked it.  They couldn’t find the CVS in Davis Square — it’s only been open a few months, but come on, it’s on Google Maps! — so they called it in to the one on Medford St.

I asked the pharmacy assistant to check and see if it was at Medford St.  She said that nothing was there.

I called my doctor.  The office was closed for the night and only the answering service was there.

“Is there any way you can look at my file and find out what the prescription was for and whether you can call it in if it wasn’t?” I asked.

“Oh, no,” she replied.  “We’re not allowed to look at folders.”

“….okay,” I said.  “What do you suggest I do, then?”

“You could come to the urgent care center.”

“That closes at 7:30.  I’m in Somerville and it’s almost 7:00.”  (The UCC is up in North Reading.  I really have to switch to a closer doctor…)

“Well, I could give you the number of the doctor on duty.”

“Does he have access to my files, electronically or otherwise?”

“He might!” she said enthusiastically.

I called the doctor on duty.  I left a message to have him page me.

In the meantime, I decided to call the CVS on Medford St. myself.  I was immediately put on hold.  After about five minutes of holding, the doctor called me on the other line.

I explained the situa —

“Can’t help you.”

“Is there any–”

“Emergency room or nothing.”

“Well.  Okay.  I will let the answering service know, because they thought you might have access, and if they had known, it wouldn’t have wasted your time as well as mine.”

He warmed up after that.  “What’s wrong?….Oh, yeah, I know what they probably called in for you.  Wish I could help you out, but I just can’t do that over the phone.”

I thanked him and hung up.

On the other line, I WAS STILL ON HOLD WITH CVS.

I waited another five minutes until I decided to just hang up and try again.

I called again and kept count.  Four minutes into the call, someone answered: “CVSPharmacypleasehold.”  She put me back on hold before I could get a word out.

Twelve minutes later (!), she finally picked up the phone.

I did not have the kindest words for her.  Waiting on hold this long for a store is one thing, but this is a pharmacy.  People have medical needs.

“I’m sorry.  There aren’t a lot of people here.”

I asked her to look for my prescription.

SHE FOUND IT.  SHE ACTUALLY FOUND IT.  Even though my doctor had called in hours ago, nobody had bothered to put it in the computer.

I handed my cell phone directly to the pharmacy assistant.  They talked it over and filled the prescription.

(But they only had enough pills for three days.  They told me to come back tomorrow to get the rest.)

And I am now happily medicated…but I’m going to go to the doctor on Monday, anyway, just to make sure this isn’t pneumonia or anything like that.

