I love spontaneous, unexpected adventures.  The one I had on Monday was certainly memorable.

I was doing errands in Davis, finally getting my shoes repaired (they all wear down on the right heel!), when I got a phone call from my friend Esther.

Esther: “What are you up to?”

Me: “Doing errands in Davis.  What about you?”

Esther: “I got VTO [Voluntary Time Off, when you get to leave early without pay or using your accrued time off hours].  I’m at Park Street.  Want to go get some food?”

Me: “Um…OKAY!”

We met in Harvard Square and went to the Border Cafe, one of my all-time favorite places.  I used to go there on my birthday each year, though I rarely go anymore.  We split a quesadilla and each got a strawberry margarita (and let me say that Esther is also a vegetarian, so I love that she doesn’t temp me into eating meat!) and spent the next hour or so girlytalking at a thousand miles an hour.

It was fun.  We then decided that it would be a great idea to congratulate/roast everyone we knew who had recently gotten a promotion of any kind.  Yeah.

Esther used to work at the Charles Hotel, which is one of the nicest hotels in Boston.  We dropped by to say hi to her friends, and then, after taking a break and getting some food with one of her old work friends, we headed back in and he beckoned for us to join him in the elevator.

We rode to the top of the building.

To the Presidential Suite.

Bill Clinton has stayed there.  So has Al Gore.  And Will Smith.  And countless other politicians and celebrities.

I have never been in the best suite in a luxury hotel before, so I found it very cool.  I have to admit that I giggled like crazy at the seemingly precious painting that zips up into the wall to reveal a flat-screen TV.  It’s the best of both worlds!  I think I’d like that in my dream home someday.

The view was great, too — you could see the skyline across the Charles (river, not hotel).

After crashing the suite, Esther and I hung out in the square for a while, then went back to the Charles.  To use the bathrooms.  (They were really nice.)

Special thanks to our lovely guide for sneaking us up there!

