I’ve discovered a fantastic new travel site — Most Traveled People.  It is a community that ranks whom they consider to be, well, the most traveled people in the world.

(I wryly noted that the person currently ranking at number one is the site’s founder.)

Now, you know that I love travel and that I love anything that lets you chart your travel accomplishments.  But this site goes one step further.

Instead of simply checking off the countries to which you’ve been, you check off “places.”  Most of the time, “places” are countries.  Other times, they’re states — U.S. states, Australian states, South African states, Mexican states, Brazilian states.  And sometimes they’re just regions or areas.  U.K. Channel Islands like Jersey and Guernsey each get their own entry, as do Malaysia’s Sarawak, Sabah and Peninsular Malaysia, and countries that have declared independence or tried to, like Kosovo and Somaliland.

All in all, it adds up to 673.  The top 10 travelers have traveled to between 501 and 630 destinations.

I joined.  You can check out my profile here.

I soon received the following email:

Dear Kate,
Hello from MTP (MostTraveledPeople.com)!  We’re writing to say congratulations for passing a significant travel milestone!
According to our records, you have now visited at least 25 locations, placing you at the Tourist level among your traveling peers. It’s clear you have been on the road, and we respect that!
Right now we show you ranked as the 2702nd traveler in the world, and the 1631st traveler in USA (as well as the 51st traveler in Massachusetts), since you’ve traveled to 36 locations.
You might also be interested to know that, according to the number of actual member visits, the least-visited place you’ve traveled is Tamaulipas, and the most popular place you haven’t traveled is Germany (other).

I’m a tourist?!  Shudder.  That’s the one thing I try not to be.

Eh.  I know they mean well.

Tamaulipas is the region in Mexico where Beth and I went for the day.  It’s the northeastern corner of the country, and we were in the town of Nuevo Progreso long enough to buy kitschy souvenirs, eat weird fruit and get my hair cornrowed.

I like that it’s separate because it makes me feel less guilty about marking down Mexico after having been there for only two hours, tops.

Here are the top 25 most visited destinations on the site, with the ones I’ve visited bolded:

  1. France
  2. England
  3. New York
  4. California
  5. Germany
  6. Italy
  7. Florida
  8. Netherlands
  9. Nevada
  10. New Jersey
  11. Switzerland
  12. District of Columbia
  13. Austria
  14. Belgium
  15. Illinois
  16. Arizona
  17. Texas
  18. Spain
  19. Pennsylvania
  20. Massachusetts
  21. Virginia
  22. Vatican City
  23. Maryland
  24. Georgia (U.S. State)
  25. Colorado

As for the italicized destinations…

Well, they’re where I hope to go by the end of the year.  I’ll be in Nevada two weeks from tomorrow, and I’ll be in Chicago in September.

I’ve been thinking more about my Thanksgiving trip.  I’m now thinking that a great European weeklong trip would be to the Netherlands, Luxembourg and Germany.

I’ve wanted to visit Amsterdam for a long time.  (No, NOT for the drugs!  There is MUCH more to Amsterdam than drugs!)  If I went, I’d also visit Delft, the home of Vermeer and the setting of the book and film Girl with a Pearl Earring.  Also, Amsterdam is a city that’s great year-round, so a November trip wouldn’t be a problem.

Luxembourg City is supposed to be GORGEOUS.  And in Germany, I would go to Koln (Cologne) — because they apparently have a chocolate factory that Let’s Go claims is “Willy Wonka Made Real.”  I also have a friend who lives in Koln and keeps encouraging me to visit.  It’s very close to Amsterdam.  And, of course, my lovely German college roommate, Julia, lives in Mannheim, which is in western Germany, not too far from Koln.

(Ask about the time when my German roommate and I accidentally ended up watching a World War II movie together.  Great story.)

Best of all, these locations are all close together, so it’s very doable.  I’m not doing my usual budget flight circuit around the continent.

So, before I sign off for the day, here are my 36 places:

In Europe: Belgium, Czech Republic, England, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Monaco, Switzerland, Vatican City, Wales

In Canada: New Brunswick, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec

In Mexico: Tamaulipas

In the United States: Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Texas, United Nations Headquarters (New York), Vermont, Virginia

Or, if you’d like, you can just check out my map.  That world won’t be red for long!

For comparison, here is the INSANE map of the founder of the site, Charles A. Veley.  Yeah, the places where he has BEEN are green.  It’s unbelievable.

You MUST join this site.  It’s so much fun.

The best part: when you select a place, it glows for a few seconds.  It feels like it is humbly acknowledging your travel accomplishment.  I love it.

