I don’t have nightmares very often, but when I do, they’re terrifying.  Last night was no exception.

It was so brief.  I was in my room, in my bed, and all of a sudden, someone tossed a giant lobster onto the ground next to the bed.  I started screaming, and I woke up screaming.

I was half-asleep and thought that there still might be a giant live lobster in my room, so I vaulted myself out of my bed and jumped into the hallway to turn the light on.  (My lightswitch is outside the room.)  It felt like an eternity before I saw light.

I went back into my room.  No lobster, of course, but it was still terrifying.  And it was only 4:00 AM.

I looked it up on Dream Moods, the best dream decoding site on the web, and I found the following definition:

To see a lobster in your dream represents strength and persistence. You will hold your own ground and overcome minor difficulties and problems.

I don’t know.  I think I’ve just had lobster on the brain, lately.  It’s summer in New England!

I can’t wait to get up to the Maine Diner for their seafood chowder and lobster roll, which is mayo-free, and the meat is soaked in butter.

I’ve been reading Thomas Keller’s recipe for butter-poached lobster.

And I saw the following LOLcat the day before yesterday:

Stay away, scary lobsters!

