Okay.  I’ve been doing some more research on destinations for travel this Thanksgiving, and here is my information.

First of all, AM I CRAZY?!  WE’RE IN THE WORST FINANCIAL CRISIS OF OUR TIME AND I’M OFF TO EUROPE?!

Well, possibly.

Here are some of my thoughts on Iceland:

  • I’ve always wanted to go in the summer to party in the midnight sun.
  • BUT, I could see the Northern Lights if I went during the winter.
  • AND it will be dark, with the sun rising around 10:30 AM and setting around 3:30 PM.
  • Iceland is expensive.
  • BUT it’s cheap to fly there.
  • ALSO, their economy just collapsed so much worse than ours.  Things are twice as cheap now.
  • This might be the ideal time to go.
  • AND, my blog friend Bex will be going with her friend at the same time.  Not that I’d crash their party, but it would be cool if someone I knew was there, too!

I’m not going to get into Amsterdam, or Berlin or Paris or Copenhagen or anything, because I’d like to go there because they are fantastic cities.  And I’ve never been to Amsterdam or Berlin or Copenhagen, but Paris is my favorite place in the world.

I’ll just do Amsterdam for now.

Here are my options for the lowest pricing:

Iceland only:

  • Fly to Reykjavik Thursday (Thanksgiving) night, arriving Friday morning.
  • Fly to Boston Tuesday afternoon.
  • Total: $476 USD

Amsterdam only:

  • Fly to Amsterdam via Reykjavik Wednesday night, arriving Thursday morning.
  • Fly to Boston via Reykjavik Tuesday afternoon.
  • Total: $770 USD

Iceland AND Amsterdam:

  • Fly to Reykjavik Wednesday night, arriving Thursday morning.
  • Fly to Amsterdam early Saturday morning.
  • Fly to Boston via Reykjavik Tuesday afternoon.
  • Total: $776 USD

Prices for Berlin or Paris are a bit higher on IcelandAir, especially Berlin, but I could book through elsewhere.  Copenhagen is only $711.

So…I could go to Iceland for a short time.  I could go to Iceland for a very short time and Amsterdam for a not-as-short time.  I could go to Amsterdam for enough time to allow several trips outside the city, like Delft (where Girl with a Pearl Earring, one of my favorite books and movies, takes place and was shot!).

So…any thoughts?

Which place should I choose?

Or should I just forget about the whole thing and concentrate on staying financially afloat in these hard economic times?

