For some reason, I didn’t get into the Oscars this year.  That’s a first.  I don’t know what it was.  Just not feeling it this year.

I did see Slumdog Millionaire, but I didn’t think it was the be-all and end-all of movies.  It was very good, and probably the best picture of the year, but it didn’t hit me hard and stay with me.  That’s what Babel and Lost in Translation did to me — and, to a lesser degree, Michael Clayton, and Good Night and Good Luck, and Crash, and Million Dollar Baby, and Little Miss Sunshine, and Sideways.

But I never let a year go by without predicting the Oscars.

I want one thing to happen this year — I want Mickey Rourke to win for The Wrestler.  I am still bitter about Sean Penn robbing Bill Murray of his deserved Oscar for Lost in Translation, and I don’t want it to happen again.  And Mickey is unbelievable in that movie.

But mostly because he could give a hilarious speech like this:

THAT would be must-see TV.

Here are my predictions:

Best Picture: Slumdog Millionaire

Best Director: Danny Boyle, Slumdog Millionaire

Best Actor: Sean Penn, Milk (It kills me to do this, but I would LOVE to be proven wrong.  Mickey Rourke deserves it.)

Best Actress: Kate Winslet, The Reader

Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger, The Dark Knight

Best Supporting Actress: Amy Adams, Doubt

Best Adapted Screenplay: Slumdog Millionaire

Best Original Screenplay: Milk

Best Original Score: Slumdog Millionaire

Best Original Song: “Jai Ho,” Slumdog Millionaire

Best Editing: Slumdog Millionaire

Best Cinematography: The Dark Knight

Best Art Direction: The Dark Knight

Best Costumes: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (I strongly prefer Australia.)

Best Makeup: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (I am now tempted to write THAT BENJAMIN BUTTONS SHIT, Kanye West/Michael K-style)

Best Visual Effects: THAT BENJAMIN BUTTONS SHIT

Best Sound Editing: The Dark Knight

Best Sound Mixing: The Dark Knight

Best Documentary: Man on Wire

Best Foreign Film: Waltz with Bashir, Israel

Best Animated Film: Wall-E

And I’d like to give some love to my favorite movies of the year: Tropic Thunder, Gran Torino and WMamma Mia and Pineapple Express were great guilty pleasures as well.

But as far as the Oscars go, what I am looking forward to most is seeing the criminally sexy Hugh Jackman.  I think he’s going to be a fabulous host and he better have his shirt off for a good portion of the evening.

