I need advice on what to do with this blog.

I started this blog in early 2006, and so much has changed since then.  I had no qualms about blogging anything, photos and all.

But times have changed, and in an age when the slightest online infraction can greatly affect your career, especially in this economy, I know I have to do something about this blog.

I want to have a professional Web site — (myname).com — and I’ve already created it and am hosting it myself through WordPress.org.  I’m not sure what to do with it other than display my professional writing. I could make it a blog, or it could just be a Web site.

I also recently bought a GREAT new travel-oriented domain that I think would make a great new blog (let’s call it (awesometravel).com for now). I would blog at least 80% of the time about travel, but it could include occasional personal posts about life in Boston, politics or anything else.

But do I really want FOUR blogs?  I can barely keep up with two!

The choice is clear:  I’m at a crossroads with Kate’s Adventures.

Here are my options:

Option 1:

Keep Kate’s Adventures as is and continue to blog here occasionally.

Option 2:

Keep Kate’s Adventures but remove all photos, identifying details and some of the more scandalous entries.  In fact, possibly delete most entries.  Continue to blog here occasionally.

Option 3:

Get rid of Kate’s Adventures.  Obviously, export and save the blog to keep the memories, but have it removed from the Web.  Have katesadventures.com redirect to one of my new sites.

That’s the big decision.

Now, here’s what I need to decide regarding (myname).com:

Option 1:

Keep a personal blog at (myname).com.  Just hold onto the domain (awesometravel).com for now.

Option 2:

Occasionally blog at (myname).com, but in a way that mirrors my professional writing.

Option 3:

Do not blog at all at (myname).com.  Just keep it as a web site with my professional information and links to my writing.

And then there’s (awesometravel).com.

I really need help.  What do you think I should do?  Any answers would be greatly appreciated!

